GoDaddy is a domain registrar and web hosting platform. From here, you can create and run your website conveniently. According to its users, GoDaddy is more than just a website. It is a platform where you can not only create a modern and professional website, but also keep track of your progress.
The platform allows you to avoid guesswork by providing real and accurate figures that can help you grow your business. Its customer support is superb meaning you can always get the help you need.
However, even with the totally amazing services that GoDaddy has to offer, you might find yourself in a situation where you wish to stop using the platform’s services.
Regardless of your reason for quitting, we provide you with the steps of how to cancel GoDaddy account below:
- What You Will Need To Cancel GoDaddy Account?
- Important Things to Keep in Mind Before Canceling Your GoDaddy Account
- What is the Difference Between Canceling Your GoDaddy Account and Canceling Auto Renewal?
- Difference Between Canceling GoDaddy Account and Canceling Domain
- How to Delete/ Cancel Your Domain in GoDaddy
- In Conclusion
What You Will Need To Cancel GoDaddy Account?
You do not need any special tools to cancel your GoDaddy account. However, you will need to have your login details. These include the name of your domain, its username and password.
It is important to note that cancelled GoDaddy accounts will no longer show in the CRM. Once the account has been closed, the decision cannot be reversed. All of your data and information is deleted, never to be accessed again.
1. Delete the Products Associated with Your GoDaddy Account
The first step of canceling your GoDaddy account is deleting all the products associated with your account. To do this, the GoDaddy support team will send you a confirmation email that you must answer once you trigger the “delete products” command.
After replying to the confirmation email sent to you, your products will be deleted automatically. You must then wait for at least 24 hours before you can continue with the account cancellation process.
2. Contact Preferences Page
After the 24 hours have lapsed and all the products associated with your account have been deleted, it is time to contact your GoDaddy Contact Preference page. In some cases, you might be prompted to log in to your account before proceeding.
At the contact preferences page, there is a category marked “account,” click on it and select the “edit” option. You will notice that the status reads “closing your account” and it will be “active.” At this stage, you can now close your account at your request.
3. Accept You Understand the Consequences of Your Actions
As aforementioned, once you cancel your GoDaddy account, the process cannot be reversed. The “confirmation” prompt simply wants to ascertain that you are aware of what you are doing.
Under the “confirm” option, select “I understand this action cannot be undone.” At this stage, if you hadn’t deleted the products associated with your account, you will get a reminder to do it. It will take 24 hours before you can continue with the account deletion process.
4. Close Your Account
If everything checks out, you will see a success message. You will not be able to access the GoDaddy account services from then on.
Important Things to Keep in Mind Before Canceling Your GoDaddy Account
Canceling your GoDaddy account is a personal choice and you can do so at any time. However, you should keep the following in mind:
- You will not get any refunds after closing your account.
If you are eligible for a refund, you should contact GoDaddy support before closing your account. The platform’s refund policy dictates that when you close your account, all the information and data is lost so you are not eligible for a refund.
- Some of Your Data Might Be Retained
If GoDaddy feels that some of your information should be kept for legitimate reasons such as legal proceedings, the information and data will be retained in accordance with the platform’s document retention policies.
What is the Difference Between Canceling Your GoDaddy Account and Canceling Auto Renewal?
Canceling your GoDaddy account means that you no longer want anything to do with the account. All your data and information is deleted and the process cannot be reversed. It is for that reason that you must be absolutely sure before deleting your account.
On the other hand, canceling your GoDaddy account’s auto renewal services means that the products associated with your account are not auto-renewed. However, neither your account nor the products associated with your account will be deleted.
Additionally, canceling auto-renew is not a permanent process. When you feel like the time is right, you can always renew the product manually.
To turn off auto-renew, go to GoDaddy “renewals and Billing page” then check on the box to pick the product or domain that you want to stop its auto renewal. Finally, click on the “cancel renewal” option once prompted. A new window will appear where you will be asked to confirm your decision.
After canceling your product’s renewal services, you will continue to enjoy its services until the end of your subscription period.
Difference Between Canceling GoDaddy Account and Canceling Domain
You can cancel your GoDaddy domain without necessarily deleting your GoDaddy account. It is possible that at some point, you might not want to have a domain name registered to you. This does not mean that you are no longer interested in GoDaddy services.
At that point, you can choose to do away with your domain only. However, it is important to note that deleting your domain means that you will never access it again. If you are not entirely sure, you might want to turn off auto renewal instead.
How to Delete/ Cancel Your Domain in GoDaddy
If you decide to cancel your Domain in GoDaddy, follow the following steps:
1. Go to GoDaddy Domain Control Center
Just like when deleting your account, you will need to have your login details that include your username and password. Once you are at the “domain control center” pick all the domains that you want to delete by marking their icons or “select all.”
2. Delete the Domains
After selecting the domains that you no longer need, click on the “more” option then select “Delete.” You will be prompted to confirm that indeed you want to delete the selected domains. If you do, click on the box that says “yes, I consent to delete the selected domains.”
3. Select “Continue”
To ascertain that you are the owner of the account and you have the Ownership Protection on your domain, GoDaddy support team will send you a verification message that you will use.
Alternatively, an authenticator app can be used if you have the “two-step verification” security feature enabled for more than three days.
However, if you haven’t activated the security feature, a simple one-time password is sent to your domain registrant email address and you will be good to go. Once done, you will see a “success” confirmation to ascertain that you have cancelled your domain/s.
In most cases, the registry holds the cancelled domain before eventually releasing it to other users. After that, you will be able to re-register it as well.
GoDaddy is an amazing platform where you can host your domains. Its services are amazing and it is accepted all over the world. However, there might come a time when the need to cancel your account will arise. When that happens, the steps offered in this piece will be very useful.
Once you delete your account, the process cannot be reversed. However, you can choose to stop auto renewal or cancel your domain rather than permanently closing your account.
I hope you found this post about canceling/deleting GoDaddy accounts/domain helpful. If you have go any questions, feel free to ask them in the comments section below.