LinkedIn has always been a very different platform from most social media networks out there.
The content formats are different, the profiles you create are different and more in-depth, the way you connect with other people around is pretty unique, and last but not least – the follow and unfollow game, of course!
And I know that you’re here to learn about the ways you can get to know if someone unfollowed you on LinkedIn!
I’ll be providing actionable answers/solutions for this, and also, I’m going to answer all other questions that may come to your mind.
So what are we waiting for? Let’s go find the answers:
How To Find Out Who Unfollowed You On LinkedIn?
So, there are mainly two ways you can look and find out who actually unfollowed you on LinkedIn and both of them are pretty generalistic:
- Via LinkedIn Feed
- Download Data From LinkedIn
Method #1: Via LinkedIn Feed
Here’s the first method that you can use to find who were you unfollowed by:
Step 1: Open LinkedIn and then head over to your profile as shown below.
Step 2: Once you are there on the page, you will see a section where you’ll be able to see the number of followers you have.
Step 3: Further, if you’re using mobile, click on the link saying ‘manage followers,’ and if you’re on a laptop/computer, click on the number of followers shown in blue color.
When you do that, you’ll be taken to a new page/area where you will see who you are currently following and who’s following you back.
You can compare both of these sections to see whether or not a particular person is following you.
It’s a very lengthy and time-consuming process but you don’t really get a separate feature where you can know who and how many people stopped following you/your content.
To be honest, for most of it, none of the social media platforms notifies you regarding the same.
Method #2: Downloading Data From LinkedIn
Now that you’ve gone through the first method and you want to see and check more specific data, here’s what you can do:
Step 1: Go to the ‘Me’ section on the site and then click on ‘Settings & Privacy’ as shown in the screenshot below:
Step 2: After doing that, click on the section that says ‘Data privacy.’
Step 3: When you do that, you will see a new page titled ‘Export your data.’
On that page, select ‘connections’ from the options provided, and then click on ‘Request archive.’
When you do that, LinkedIn is going to take a little bit of time, and then email to the registered mail ID when your file is ready to download. This usually takes anywhere from 0 to 10 minutes.
Step 4: After receiving the mail, you can download the data by clicking on the provided link and this is what the final result will look like:
Step 5: Here, you can see when people connected with you in the first place and then you can look up each profile specifically to see who is still following you and who is not.
I know, this is simply ‘A LOT’ for a person to go through but these are the only ways you can look this data up.
My advice would be to stop worrying about how many followers you have got or who isn’t following you anymore.
LinkedIn is a platform for building relationships (that’s what pretty much every social site is). Focus on sharing content, helping people, and scaling your businesses.
When you keep quality at the top, things will start rolling on their own and you won’t even realize how big your audience will get.
If You Unfollow Someone On LinkedIn, Do They Know?
The quick answer to this question is – no.
LinkedIn doesn’t notify people when you stop unfollowing them and vice versa, just like other platforms don’t. Your connection preferences and the changes you make are private to you and aren’t disclosed publicly.
Even if you unfollow everyone in your network, they are not going to receive any type of notification regarding that.
What Happens When You Unfollow Someone On LinkedIn?
When you unfollow someone on the platform, people will still remain connected with you but you won’t be able to see their posts, or updates, and get notified of the general engagement activities.
That is all that happens when you do this. Also, neither your engagement rate nor anything else will change. It is completely okay to remove someone from your following list if you don’t want to see their updates over and over.
Unfollow Vs. Remove Connection
There’s been a lot of discussion going on about this as well. So, let me create a quick table and lay the differences out for you to understand:
|With this, you will only stop receiving updates/stop seeing posts from a particular person.||With this, you will not only unfollow someone but completely remove them from your network whatsoever.|
|You will remain connected and the other person will still keep following you.||You won’t remain connected in any way.|
|You can follow a person back anytime and have no change.||You will have to send an invitation to secure the connection.|
Well, this was it. I hope this table has been helpful to you and has answered your questions/clarified things.
If we look through an aspect, LinkedIn is a completely distinct site from all major social media sites.
As the follow/unfollow ratio isn’t publicly available on the platform, people don’t worry much about it.
With other platforms, you can scroll through the lists or use third-party tools to find things out but that’s not the case here.
Generally, people have a massive network as they’re constantly looking for jobs and business leads…and this makes it a very non-rewarding and time-consuming process to just sit and scan through a list that has thousands and thousands of people.
Nevertheless, these were the ways you could discover who didn’t show interest in your content…I hope you encountered what you were looking for.